Back to search
The question

What are plant and animal rennet and the regulations for their use?

Share this answer

Source: FtawySummary from Ftawy's records · added here Sep 2, 20261 min readAlso available in العربية
The answer

Rennet is pure and edible if it comes from an animal that has been lawfully slaughtered (). It is not to be eaten if it comes from a pig, or from a dead animal other than a pig, according to the majority of scholars, while the Hanafis permitted it.

Summary from Ftawy's records · added here

Reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.

Read the full answer on Ftawy
Where this answer came from
Source platform
Ftawy
Original fatwa ID
61380
Added here
. This is when the answer was added to El Fatwa, not the fatwa's date.
Text
Summary from Ftawy's records, reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.
Read the full ruling
Read the full answer on Ftawy