Back to search
The question

How is glycerin halal if it is found inside an animal and has not undergone a process of transformation (istihalah)?

Share this answer

Source: FtawySummary from Ftawy's records · added here Sep 2, 20261 min readAlso available in العربية
The answer

Transmutation means the change of the essence of an impure or prohibited substance, and the transformation of its very nature into a different substance in name and characteristics. This chemical change purifies it and renders it permissible. Although the original substance may have been one, after transmutation, each of its components acquires its own name and ruling. Accordingly, glycerin extracted from animal fats is considered pure and permissible for use after its decomposition and change in characteristics.

Summary from Ftawy's records · added here

Reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.

Read the full answer on Ftawy
Where this answer came from
Source platform
Ftawy
Original fatwa ID
8409
Added here
. This is when the answer was added to El Fatwa, not the fatwa's date.
Text
Summary from Ftawy's records, reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.
Read the full ruling
Read the full answer on Ftawy