Is carrageenan permissible, knowing that it may be crystallized with ethyl alcohol, isopropyl alcohol, or potassium chloride?
Source: FtawySummary from Ftawy's records · added here Sep 2, 2026
Carrageenan is extracted from red algae and used in the food industry. There is no harm in consuming it because the default ruling for what comes from the sea is permissibility. If it is produced using alcohol, and the alcohol is completely consumed such that it does not intoxicate, then it is excused due to its transformation and consumption. Thus, there is no harm in consuming it as long as it does not lead to harm.
Summary from Ftawy's records · added here
Reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.
Read the full answer on Ftawyhttps://ftawy.com/en/questions/22790
Where this answer came from
- Source platform
- Ftawy
- Original fatwa ID
- 22790
- Added here
- . This is when the answer was added to El Fatwa, not the fatwa's date.
- Text
- Summary from Ftawy's records, reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.
- Read the full ruling
- Read the full answer on Ftawy