Back to search
The question

What is the ruling on eating sweets that contain "carmine", a substance extracted from female lice?

Share this answer

Source: FtawySummary from Ftawy's records · added here Oct 24, 20261 min readAlso available in العربية
The answer

Gelatin: If it is plant-based, there is no objection to it. If it is animal-based, there is no objection to consuming what contains it, because if it was from an animal that died naturally (ميتة), it has transformed into another substance. Carmine: If it is extracted from female lice and has transformed into another substance, there is no objection to consuming it, knowing that eating lice is by consensus. The basic principle regarding foods and drinks is permissibility, and nothing from them is prohibited based on mere suspicion.

Summary from Ftawy's records · added here

Reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.

Read the full answer on Ftawy
Where this answer came from
Source platform
Ftawy
Original fatwa ID
23267
Added here
. This is when the answer was added to El Fatwa, not the fatwa's date.
Text
Summary from Ftawy's records, reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.
Read the full ruling
Read the full answer on Ftawy