Back to search
The question

What is the ruling on consuming foods that contain gelatin or pork derivatives, the source of which is difficult to determine in non-Islamic countries?

Share this answer

Source: FtawySummary from Ftawy's records · added here Sep 2, 20261 min readAlso available in العربية
The answer

Gelatin made from pork is (forbidden) by consensus. If its composition does not include anything forbidden, then it is (permissible). If its origin is unknown, then its use appears to be permissible due to widespread affliction (عموم البلوى) and the unknown origin, and because most manufactured materials have been processed to the point of transforming from their origin, and because the default ruling for things is permissibility. Pepsi drinks, yogurt, potatoes, and other similar items are originally permissible until it is proven that they contain something forbidden.

Summary from Ftawy's records · added here

Reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.

Read the full answer on Ftawy
Where this answer came from
Source platform
Ftawy
Original fatwa ID
151819
Added here
. This is when the answer was added to El Fatwa, not the fatwa's date.
Text
Summary from Ftawy's records, reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.
Read the full ruling
Read the full answer on Ftawy