Back to search
The question

Is dried, glycerine-treated raisin halal?

Share this answer

Source: FtawySummary from Ftawy's records · added here Sep 2, 20261 min readAlso available in العربية
The answer

If the substance used to dry the raisins is impure (najis) or derived from an animal that was not ritually slaughtered (unslaughtered), then it is impermissible to use the raisins mixed with it. However, if its source is botanical, or marine animal, or a land animal that was ritually slaughtered, or if it has transformed into another substance through manufacturing and causes no harm, then there is no objection to using it and the raisins mixed with it.

Summary from Ftawy's records · added here

Reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.

Read the full answer on Ftawy
Where this answer came from
Source platform
Ftawy
Original fatwa ID
102360
Added here
. This is when the answer was added to El Fatwa, not the fatwa's date.
Text
Summary from Ftawy's records, reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.
Read the full ruling
Read the full answer on Ftawy