Back to search
The question

Is drinking yeast beverage after leaving it to ferment halal or haram?

Share this answer

Source: FtawySummary from Ftawy's records · added here Sep 2, 20261 min readAlso available in العربية
The answer

If a drink is left to ferment and becomes intoxicating, then a small or large quantity of it is forbidden. The reason for the prohibition of drinks is intoxication, regardless of their source or processing method. The jurisprudential rule is: "Every intoxicant is , and every Khamr is forbidden."

Summary from Ftawy's records · added here

Reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.

Read the full answer on Ftawy
Where this answer came from
Source platform
Ftawy
Original fatwa ID
38186
Added here
. This is when the answer was added to El Fatwa, not the fatwa's date.
Text
Summary from Ftawy's records, reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.
Read the full ruling
Read the full answer on Ftawy