Back to search
The question

Is E471, found in some foods like sweets and ice cream, gelatin extracted from pork or an enzyme, and does its presence render the food forbidden?

Share this answer

Source: FtawySummary from Ftawy's records · added here Sep 2, 20261 min readAlso available in العربية
The answer

We have no knowledge of the reality of this substance. You can ask specialists about it to clarify it for us, and then we will issue a legal ruling concerning it. We have previously issued fatwas regarding gelatin and enzymes.

Summary from Ftawy's records · added here

Reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.

Read the full answer on Ftawy
Where this answer came from
Source platform
Ftawy
Original fatwa ID
48674
Added here
. This is when the answer was added to El Fatwa, not the fatwa's date.
Text
Summary from Ftawy's records, reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.
Read the full ruling
Read the full answer on Ftawy