Back to search
The question

Is vanilla or vanilla extract halal, especially since it contains alcoholic substances that evaporate?

Share this answer

Source: FtawySummary from Ftawy's records · added here Sep 2, 20261 min readAlso available in العربية
The answer

Vanilla is a rare and precious plant whose extract is used to flavor sweets and beverages. It is prepared by treating its pods with alcohol and water. The ruling on consuming vanilla is permissible, even if it was mixed with alcohol during its preparation, because alcohol is not physically impure, and its proportion in vanilla is very small, not leading to intoxication, and no effect of it appears upon consumption. The Islamic Organization for Medical Sciences has affirmed that alcohol is not ritually impure according to , and that consuming food products in whose manufacturing a small percentage of alcohol is included is permissible due to the widespread nature of the affliction (umoom al-balwa) and the evaporation of most of the alcohol during manufacturing.

Summary from Ftawy's records · added here

Reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.

Read the full answer on Ftawy
Where this answer came from
Source platform
Ftawy
Original fatwa ID
23198
Added here
. This is when the answer was added to El Fatwa, not the fatwa's date.
Text
Summary from Ftawy's records, reviewed by El Fatwa's sharia committee.
Read the full ruling
Read the full answer on Ftawy